60 Balls, 6 Wickets, ‘Mystery Free-Hit’: All You Need To Know About CPL’s New T10 League The 6IXTY

The 10th season of the Caribbean Premier League will kick off with a brand new T10 style competition in which 6 men’s teams and 3 women’s teams will compete in a 60-balls-a-side tournament with “radical new rules”. CPL made the announcement on social media via posts and a teaser video featuring West Indian legend Chris Gayle. The competition has been named 6IXTY.

60 balls, 6 men’s teams, 3 women’s teams, radically new rules. Join us as we watch the CPL teams compete in @6ixtycricket #CricketsPowerGame #6ixtyCricket #CPL22‘ the CPL said in its tweet.

Here are some of the crazy rules the format will have, according to an ESPNCricinfo report.

1) Each batting team has six wickets in tenth place in the other formats.

2) Batting teams can “unlock” a floating third power play over by hitting two sixes in the first two over power play

3) Teams shall bowl five consecutive overs without changing ends. There will be no substitutions after each over

4) If teams fail to bowl their 10 overs within 45 minutes, a fielder will be removed for the last six balls

5) Fans can vote for a mystery free hit via an app or website


“It’s about creating excitement and interest. It’s just like golf right now – sometimes you have to look at things through a different lens. This is about a totally new audience. We’re going very much after the younger generation. CPL CEO Pete Russell told ESPNcricinfo.

“Our plan is to do four a year, that’s the premise. Potentially you’d want to have three in the Caribbean and one elsewhere. We’d like to play one internationally: if I took the 6ixty to Vegas that would be a dream ticket,” he added.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.