CWG: Sehwag on hockey controversy – ‘Biasedness happened in cricket as well…’

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag has a blunt take on the hockey controversy that marred the Indian women’s team semi-final against Australia at the 2022 Commonwealth Games. Despite Savita Punia making a fine save in the penalty shootout, Australian Rosie Malone, who missed her first attempt, was given another chance as the stopwatch hadn’t started. The attacker scored in the next try and the Indians eventually suffered a 0-3 loss in the shoot-out, which preceded a 1-1 result at the end of regulation time.

Sehwag shared a bold tweet about the stopwatch glitch, saying cricket was also ‘biased’ before India emerged as a ‘superpower’

“Penalty miss hua Australia se and the umpire says Sorry Clock start nahi hua. Such bias used to be in cricket too, until we became a superpower, Hockey mein bhi hum jaldbanenge and all clocks will start on time. Proud of our girls ‘ wrote the former batter.

Australia continued their momentum, hitting the Indian goal for the next three shots, while India’s shots in the shoot-out were saved by substituted goalkeeper Jocelyn Bartram.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has apologized for the episode and said it will “take a close look at the clock incident”.

“In the semi-finals of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham 2022 between Australia and India (Women), the penalty shootout accidentally started too early (the clock was not yet ready to work), for which we apologize,” the FIH said in a statement. .

“The procedure for such situations is that the penalty shootout must be retaken, which is what happened. This incident will be thoroughly reviewed by the FIH to avoid similar problems in the future,” it added.

However, Punia downplayed the shooting incident and said such incidents are part of the game. “It was a very close game and sometimes these decisions don’t go your way, it gets harder. The first punch was asked to be taken again. It was difficult for us, but at the same time, these are part of the game.” We have to move on,” Savita said to Sony Sports after the match.

Indian coach Janneke Schopman said the controversy may have “affected” the result, but declined to call it an excuse for the semi-final defeat.

“It’s hard because I think from 1-0 demonstrable and if I go in with momentum I have 5 players who are angry that they can take it again. Their focus may have been affected a bit but it’s no excuse It wasn’t helpful to us at all,” said Schopman.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.