How to Finally Hide Your WhatsApp ‘Last Seen’ Status From Specific People

Image for article titled How to Finally Hide Your WhatsApp 'Last Seen' Status from Specific People

PhotoBigTunaOnlineShutterstock

As personal privacy features go, WhatsApp has the basics covered (aside from the privacy policy, anyway). You have end-to-end encryption, two-factor authentication, and the ability to stop people from randomly adding you to groups. But something WhatsApp was always lacking check about these privacy features: you can share your profile picture or last-timestamp seen from everyone, or hide from everyone, with no in-between. Apps like Telegram and Signal have traditionally implemented customizable privacy controls much better.

Slowly but surely, WhatsApp is now allowing users to adjust their privacy features. As long as you’re using the latest version of WhatsApp, you can choose exceptions to the general rules. You can choose individual contacts who can’t see your last one seen status or your profile picture, as long as they’re added to the contact list.

Get started in the “Settingssection: Goh to AccountPrivacy and choose either the “Last seen” or “Profile picture” option. Choose the “My contacts except” and then select the contacts you want to hide your last seen status or profile picture for. TapDone to save the changes.

Image for article titled How to Finally Hide Your WhatsApp 'Last Seen' Status from Specific People

ScreenshotKhamosh Pathak

You may have noticed that WhatsApp uses a blacklist method when it comes to privacy controls. If you want to hide your last seen status from a new contact, you have to go in and add them to the list of exceptions. It is also important to note that unknown numbers that are not saved in your contact list anyway will not be able to access your last seen status or your profile picture.

If you are annoyed by random people adding you to WhatsApp groups, we suggest you take a look at the “groups” section in the “Privacy” settings. Switch to the “No one” to prevent anyone from adding you directly to groups (you will receive an invite message instead).

Also here you can use the “My contacts except” feature to prohibit only certain contacts from automatically adding you to groups† And if you use WhatsApp regularly, we highly recommend checking out our detailed WhatsApp guide to pick up an extra tip or two.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.