India announce squad for Zimbabwe tour

Shikhar Dhawan, who recently led India to a 3-0 clean sweep in the West Indies, was re-confirmed as captain when India announced the squad for the three-game ODI series in Zimbabwe later this month. The 15-man roster chosen by the All-India Senior Selection Committee featured three new names from the one who recently played in the Caribbean. Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav and Deepak Chahar return to the India mix after recovering from injuries.

Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal and Arshdeep Singh who played the ODI series against the West Indies were not included in the squad that will travel to Zimbabwe. As expected, the squad is missing big names such as captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami and Hardik Pandya. Even then, the lineup of players under veteran Shikhar Dhawan looks strong.

Shubman Gill, who won his first player of the series award against the West Indies, kept his spot on the side.

The Indian team has enjoyed a successful overseas whiteball run with 2-1 wins in the T20 and ODI series, followed by an ODI whitewash in Trinidad and a win in the first of five T20Is against the Windies on Friday 29th July.

All three matches in Zimbabwe will be played at the Harare Sports Club, with the first ODI on Monday, August 18.

Selection: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj , Deepak Chahar.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.