Irfan Pathan picks between Karthik, Pant for his ideal XI for T20 World Cup | Cricket

With the five-game home run against South Africa over, the debate over India’s possible squad or ideal XI for the 2022 T20 World Cup has intensified. Veterans and pundits of the games have all started expressing their views on the same and former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan was among the first to name his best India XI for the big tournament to be played in Australia later this year.

There are some big questions that have troubled former cricketers when naming their XI – whether they stick to their reputation and experience or top the rankings with the young and aggressive Ishan Kishan? Who will be the team’s wicketkeeper? What will the bowling combination be?

Irfan reacted quite confidently and quickly when asked to name his XI on Star Sports after the fifth T20I between India and South Africa was abandoned during rain in Bengaluru.

ALSO READ: ‘No. I don’t see his name appearing’: Gavaskar gives no-nonsense verdict on 36-year-old Indian star for T20 World Cup

“In Australia you need a strong start because the ball swings and seams a lot. So you need a player who has a lot of experience,” he said as the legendary all-rounder named KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli as the first-class line-up.

While Kohli’s form of form in the shortest format was a concern, which was even seen during the IPL 2022 season, but Irfan supported the former India skipper given his record of scoring big runs in Australia.

“Kohli may not have performed well so far, but in Australia he has scored a lot,” he said.

Irfan then chose Suryakumar Yadav as his number 4, followed by Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik and Ravindra Jadeja. His bowling combination has another spinner and three pacers.

Here is Irfan Pathan’s India XI for 2022 T20 World Cup: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.