Polio Sub-National Immunisation day in 11 states, UTs from June 19

New Delhi, June 18 (IANS): The first subnational immunization day for 2022 to administer polio vaccine drops will be held in 11 states and UTs beginning June 19, the Union Health Ministry said on Saturday.

The states and UTs for the polio vaccine campaign include Bihar, Chandigarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

During the campaign, approximately 3.9 crore children under the age of 5 are targeted to receive polio drops through stand, door-to-door, mobile and transit teams.

To provide additional protection for children, the Union government has also included the injectable inactivated poliovirus vaccine in its routine immunization program.

As India strives to protect its children from more and more Vaccine-Preventable Diseases (VPDs) by introducing additional vaccines under the Universal Immunization Program (UIP), it is important that all vaccines also reach every last child in the country the Ministry of Health said. said.

Lessons learned and systems created under the National Polio Program are being used to bolster routine immunization and achieve complete vaccination coverage of over 90 percent.

State governments and organizations such as WHO, UNICEF, Rotary International and other partners have played an important role not only in polio eradication but also in improving routine vaccination initiatives, the ministry said.

India, along with 10 other countries in the WHO Southeast Asian Region, was declared polio-free on March 27, 2014. The latest case of polio in the country was reported from Howrah, West Bengal, on January 13, 2011.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.