Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna To Play For Leicestershire Against Rohit Sharma-Led Indians In Warm-up

Ahead of the fifth scheduled test match against England on July 1, team India will close horns with Leicestershire in a four-day warm-up match starting on Thursday. The rescheduled match is part of last year’s five-match test series that had to be postponed after the fourth test due to a Covid-19 outbreak in the Indian camp. The warm-up will be a chance for the men in blue to cement themselves in the new condition after a long time for the all-important fifth test. The series favors the visitors, who lead 2-1 after beating the hosts in the fourth Test at the Oval last year by 157 runs.

Meanwhile, star players from Indian team Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna have been added to the rival Leicestershire County Cricket Club (LCCC) squad. They play under captain Sam Evans.

“Indian superstars Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna will all team up with the Leicestershire squad, led by opening batsman Sam Evans,” the club said in a statement.

“LCCC, BCCI and the ECB all agree that the four players from the visiting camp may be part of the Running Foxes side so that all members of the traveling party can participate in the match (subject to fitness).

“The match will be played with 13 players per side to provide greater flexibility and help manage bowling workloads.”

Captain Rohit Sharma will lead India in their warm-up game against Leicestershire and in the rescheduled test match against England, which starts on July 1 in Edgbaston.

“India arrived in Leicestershire on Sunday, before taking their first training and netting session at Uptonsteel County Ground on Monday morning,” the England cub added.

“The world’s second best team has trained for three days ahead of tomorrow’s four-day game against the Running Foxes, which continues in early July with the rescheduled fifth test against England at Edgbaston.”

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav.


Leicestershire CCC: Sam Evans (Capt), Rehan Ahmed, Sam Bates (wk), Nat Bowley, Will Davis, Joey Evison, Louis Kimber, Abi Sakande, Roman Walker, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna.

With ANI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.