SL vs India women 2022

Allrounder Hansima Karunaratne maintains her place in the squad after being called up ahead of the Pakistani tour to replace highly regarded batter Imesha Dulani, 20, who is currently recovering from a long-term knee injury for the 11th hour.

de Silva, 20, is said to have impressed team management during practice matches between the teams. Nuthyangana, meanwhile, will begin the tour as an understudy to veteran Anushka Sanjeewani.

Of the inclusions, Sandeepani will provide injury coverage as Shehani returns to the national team after a four-year absence; the selectors are said to be impressed by her recent appearances at home, as well as her newfound focus on fitness. Teenager Gunaratne, meanwhile, the youngest of the bunch, is returning to the national flock after completing the Pakistani tour. Though she is highly regarded for her stroke, the coaching staff is making sure she doesn’t rush into regular national service.

It is clear that the young entrants are a sign of a concerted effort by SLC to lower the average age of their team, which currently includes several players aged 30 and over. Apart from those mentioned above, only Harshitha Madavi, Hasini Perera and all-rounder Kavisha Dilhari are under the age of 30.

The squad also has a number of all-rounders; only Sanjeewani, Madavi, Perera and Nuthyangana are pure hitters. Captain Chamari Athapaththu, Nilakshi de Silva, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Dilhari, Karunaratne, Gunaratne, Shehani and Sandeepani are all capable with both bat and ball.

The fast bowling division, meanwhile, will be headed by Udeshika Prabodhani and Oshadi Ranasinghe, with Sewwandi also in the mix. Inoka Ranaweera and Sugandika Kumari offer left-arm spin options, in addition to Silva’s leg pin.

Sri Lanka will play three T20Is and three ODIs against India, with the T20Is taking place in Dambulla on June 23, 25 and 27, before the action moves to Pallekele for the ODI on July 1, 4 and 7.

Sri Lanka Squad for ODIs and T20Is against India: Chamari Athapaththu (capt.), Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweeram, Achini Kulasuriya, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shechanabodi, Hansima Sathya Sandeepani, Tharika Sewwandic

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.