The company also said you should be aware of what you share, including their location and other multimedia content
Image for display: iStock
In an effort to protect users’ privacy online, Meta-owned whatsapp announced that it will roll out new options for the privacy control settings, making it possible to select who from their contact list can see their profile picture, about section and ‘last seen’ status.
“The safety and security of you and your messages important to us. We want you to know about the tools and features we’ve designed to help you stay safe while using WhatsApp,” the company wrote on its FAQ page.
WhatsApp said that users can set your last seen, profile picture, about or status to the following options — Everyone: your last seen, profile picture, about or status is available to all WhatsApp users; My Contacts: Your last seen, profile picture, about or status is only available to your contacts from your address book.
My contacts except… : Your last seen, profile picture, about, or status is available to your contacts from your address book, except the contacts you exclude.
Nobody: Your last seen, profile picture, about or status is not available to anyone.
The company also said you should be aware of what you share.
“We encourage you to think twice before you decide to share anything with your WhatsApp contacts. Think about whether you want others to see what you’ve sent,” the company said.
“If you share a chat, photo, video, file or voice message with someone else on WhatsApp, they have a copy of those messages. They can forward these messages or share them with others if they want to.” added.
WhatsApp said it also has a location feature that allows users to share their location in a WhatsApp message. Users should only share their location with people they trust.
This story is from a syndicated feed of third parties, agencies. Mid-day assumes no responsibility or liability for the reliability, reliability, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the exclusive right to change, remove or remove the content for any reason (without notice) in its sole discretion.